SM4 Recap

Many members were surprised when the fourth chapter meeting of the year was announced to be digital. Between the time that the summons was published and the meeting, the Swedish government imposed vaccine passports for events like these. The theme of the meeting was of course Christmas and despite the disappointing lack of christmas food, Esset was present live-reporting as usual.

The meeting kicked off with information from chapter president Oskar Sundström about their work since the last meeting. They had for example organized the civil engineering student conference together with chapters from all around Sweden, elected four new officials:

  • Qubb (The new kubb association) - Sanna Lingman

  • Qulturesse (The chapter’s dormant cultural association) - David Micallef

  • Head of HR in DKP (The chapter’s freshman reception) - Petra Ljunggren

  • Ambassadeur (The master reception) - Jędrzej Zdulski

A new member was also chosen for the order of Don: Olle Samuelsson, Research and innovation strategist and a member of the board at several Swedish universities. The board has also started working on the development of a strategic plan for the chapter, a task to be handed over to the next board.

Next up was THS representative Ossian Ahlkvist speaking about the work of the student union. THS is celebrating 120 years (at the same time as the S-chapter) and the chapter members were urged to be on the lookout for exciting events. The union has also been developing their work on student influence, for example by reacting to new laws regarding doctoral students’ residence status and the raised interest on student loans. The chapter meeting was also given a stern reminder that the chapter will be without representation in the student union council because no one has run for election.

Next up, three propositions were presented by the board, the operational plan and the budget for 2022 as well as the second reading of a proposition to add a treasurer to the board. All three were passed without any major discussion.

The subsequent point on the agenda was the presentation of results from the election of vice president and president of the chapter. This was performed on canvas during a whole week and the nomination committee presented the results, electing Naima Ozims as president and Alice Gardby as vice president.

Next up was the election of the board with the following results:

  • Head of the study board - Linnea Holmsten, S2

  • Qlubbmästare (Head of QBM) - Jesper Öhman, S4

  • Head of corporate relations - [Vacant]

  • Members of the board - Rut Hagwall, S2; Simon Jändel, S4; Salman Sarwar, S2

  • Jämno (Head of equality) - Alva Nordkvist, S3

  • Treasurer (new position) - [Vacant]

As the meeting continued, Oskar Sundström, S4 and Lea Modig Reisch, S2 were elected as auditors, responsible for checking the work of the board and chapter officials. Erik Horney, S3, was elected to Rattmuff, responsible for the car owned by the S-chapter. The position of project manager of Lava, the chapter work fair, was left vacant. Next, the election of board members to QBM other than the head continued. The following members were elected:

  • Vice Qlubbmästare (Responsible for some of the practical work of QBM) - Torkel Blohmé, FUmFF5*

  • Qrösus (Treasurer of QBM) - Ida Lagerlöf, S2

  • SeQret (Head of HR in QBM) - Adil Heco, FoF3

  • FAQer (Head of PR in QBM) - Oskar Lins, S2

* The meeting also added a clause that QBM can suggest his replacement if he manages to finish his studies.

And with that, exactly three hours after the meeting started, the meeting presidents wrapped up the last meeting of the year, marking the near end of yet another operational year.

Karl Mårtensson


What are your reactions to the chapter meeting? Send an e-mail to and let us know!



Sök posterna till SM2

Senaste artiklarna